Smoked spicy yoghurt chicken skewers

I haven’t posted in a really long time and I apologise for it. Things came up and work got busy, but I’m back to doing what I love most!

I’ve seen multiple versions of this recipe on my feeds recently and I decided what the heck, I want that. The marinade is a basic marinade that we use in India all the time. I use the same marination even when I’m making a chicken curry. You know me, I love my rice, but I wanted something lighter to go with the chicken so I made these delicious leavened flatbread or naan to go with it and a spicy yoghurt mint chutney. It’s summertime here and the heat kills my appetite so this light meal was perfect! Let’s get straight to the recipe!

Ingredients

500 grams boneless chicken breasts – cut into 1 inch pieces

2 quartered onions – optional

2 capsicum cut into 1 inch chunks – optional

2 tomatoes – quartered lengthwise

For the marinade

2 tablespoons ginger garlic paste

3 tablespoons thick curd

1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder

1 teaspoon chilli powder

1 teaspoon coriander powder

1 teaspoon garam masala powder

1 lemon zested and juiced

salt to taste

For the smoky flavour

1 piece of charcoal

1 teaspoon oil

Photo 24-06-17, 1 00 36 PM

Method

  1. Wash your chicken and then pat it dry. Mix all ingredients listed under marinade and the add your chicken to it. I always leave my chicken to marinate overnight in the fridge. This really helps the flavours permeate the chicken and make it tender and juicy. If you’re strapped for time, marinate for 4 hours.
  2. Soak your skewers overnight in some water so that they don’t burn in the oven.
  3. If using vegetables, alternate your chicken and vegetables and skewer them. Do not discard your leftover marinade. We have plans for it.
  4. Preheat your oven to 230 degree celsius. Bake the chicken for 10-12 minutes each side. Remember the marinade? Well when you flip your chicken, baste it with the leftover marinade.
  5. My OTG has a grill setting so I grilled my chicken on each side for 10 minutes as well hoping to get a lovely char, but it didn’t work! Anyway, hopefully all of you will enjoy charred chicken skewers.
  6. Now to add the smoke. Heat up a piece of charcoal and put it in a metal bowl. As soon as your chicken is out of the oven; set your bowl by the chicken, pour a little oil into the burning coal and quickly cover and let the smokiness flavour your chicken.
  7. I served my chicken skewers with some mint chutney and a leavened Indian flatbread or naan.
  8. Serve on a platter and enjoy!

If you do not want to serve this chicken on skewers by all means just spread it out on a tray with your veggies and bake it for 20 minutes and you will still have deliciousness to stuff your face with. Enjoy!

Photo 24-06-17, 2 57 02 PM

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

