Niçoise Salad

This dish is a comfort food for me. I found this recipe in my French textbook in the eighth grade and I rushed home to my mother and told her about this beautiful salad I studied about! My mother is an amazing cook. She loves trying out new recipes and different cuisines so when I went with this recipe to her, she had to try it out. We prepped everything and started throwing all the ingredients together. This dish is something I still enjoy making because it’s so easy to put together. For me it’s the ultimate comfort food. It manages to take me back to that time in Muscat when mother and I made this for the first time.

I understand this isn’t the traditional way to make this salad and I don’t want to be stepping on any toes, but this dish is so beautiful and light. You can customise it in so many ways.

18121543_10212833202615718_8940173226558708534_o

Ingredients

1 tin canned tuna chunks in oil

1/2 cup boiled corn

1/2 cup finely diced onions

1/2 cup finely diced capsicum

1/2 cup pitted olives (optional)

1 cup cooked rice

2 tablespoons coriander or parsley – chopped

2 tablespoons oil

Juice of one medium sized lemon

salt and pepper to taste

18155986_10212833567064829_8722838062104793584_o

Method

  1. Pour your tuna with the oil into a clean bowl and mash it up into smaller chunks. Don’t mash it up finely, leave some meaty chunks in there.
  2. Toss in more oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper and mix through.
  3. Add in all your vegetables and rice and toss till mixed evenly. Garnish with coriander and serve!

The dish is best served cold!

Leave a Reply

