Curried couscous with cranberries and chickpeas

I have a set morning routine. I wake up, pray to my Ganpathi on the wall and check Instagram. I was doing my daily scrolling when I came across this amazing looking couscous recipe by Lori Yates¬†and I just had to try it out. I lived half my life in the Middle-East and couscous never interested me. Now I move back to India and the damn craving sets in. So unfortunate! Anyway, I got my hands on a kilo of couscous and let just say, the light lunch preps have become so much easier! This recipe is so simple and easy to put together, you don’t even have to bother about prepping stuff overnight. Let’s get straight to it.

Ingredients

2/3 cup of couscous

1 cup of vegetable stock

1 tablespoon olive/canola oil

1/2 cup cooked chickpeas

1/2 cup cranberries

salt and pepper to taste

1 teaspoon curry powder

2 tablespoon fresh mint leaves – chopped

Note: If you don’t have curry powder, just use 1/4 teaspoon turmeric, 1/4 teaspoon paprika powder, 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon onion powder and 1/4 teaspoon coriander powder.

17814459_10212681695228128_4706038952992825137_o

Method

  1. Bring your veg stock to a boil. Add in the salt, pepper, curry powder and the oil. Turn the heat off and add in the couscous. Stir well and then cover and set aside for 5 minutes.
  2. Once ready, fluff the couscous with a fork. Add in chickpeas, cranberries and garnish with mint. Enjoy!

You can add any toppings you like to this meal. You can customise this meal with shredded chicken, paneer cubes or add in roasted beets – do whatever your heart desires!

 

Leave a Reply

