Glazed Cinnamon rolls

Oh. My. God. This is by far the best thing I’ve ever made. I was so proud of myself, I couldn’t stop smiling the whole day! I love Cinnabon and when my friends tasted the cinnamon rolls and told me they tasted like Cinnabon, I died and went to heaven. ūüėÄ

Coming back to earth now. I have been battling with insomnia on and off these past few weeks. I feel quite useless just lying in bed staring at the ceiling so like my mother I do the next best thing to sleeping, I cook. After trying a million times ¬†I finally got my yeast to rise! For those of you who have tried and failed like me while working with yeast, check out the method below! I was torn between making a focaccia and a cinnamon roll, but the roll won! These guys are super simple to make. I made a small batch because I have a tiny OTG that can’t do heavy duty baking, but feel free to double the recipe for more deliciousness! This recipe makes 8 medium sized rolls. Let’s get straight to the recipe!

2017-03-21 09.50.11

Ingredients for the roll

2 cups of plain flour (maida)

3 tablespoons butter

1 tablespoon white sugar

1 teaspoon active dry yeast

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoon cinnamon powder

1 tablespoon oil (to grease proofing tin)

Note: I like to use a mixture of water and milk to knead my dough, you can use all milk.

2017-03-21 09.50.31

Ingredients for the cream cheese glaze

2 tablespoons cream cheese

1/4 cup icing sugar

1 tablespoon milk

Note: You can omit the cream cheese all together and make a glaze with just milk and icing sugar. It’ll taste just as delicious!

2017-03-21 12.14.02

Method

  1. In a small bowl mix the water, white sugar and yeast; cover and set aside to proof. The mixture should get foamy and that will tell you if your yeast has been activated or not.
  2. In another big bowl combine the flour, milk, water and yeast and knead to make a smooth dough. Set it aside to rise for at least 2 hours. I left it overnight.
  3. One your dough have proofed, turn it out onto a floured surface and roll it out into a square keeping it about 1/2 an inch thick.
  4. Brush some melted butter on and then sprinkle the sugar cinnamon mix to evenly coat the dough.
  5. Roll the dough into a log. Make sure to not roll the dough too tight, just tight enough that it doesn’t fall apart.
  6. Cut 2 inch rounds from your log, set it on a baking tray and leave aside to proof again for at least 2 hours.
  7. Bake the cinnamon rolls at 180 degree celsius for about 10-15 minutes.
  8. Whip cream cheese softened at room temperature so that it’s smooth. Add in the milk and sugar and whisk until creamy. This glaze is slightly thicker than a milk and sugar glaze.
  9. Once slightly cooled, drizzle on the cream cheese glaze and serve warm!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Note: How to activate yeast

  • Make sure your yeast is fresh. I use active dry yeast so when I buy my yeast I make sure the date of manufacture is just a month before purchase. Old packets of yeast will not activate.
  • In a bowl, take lukewarm water. Add 1 teaspoon sugar, let it dissolve. Add in the yeast as required by the recipe and stir till it starts to dissolve. Cover with a cloth and set aside in a dark, warm spot to activate.
  • The water should be at blood temperature which means that when you stick your finger in the water, it doesn’t burn your hand but is the same temperature as your blood. This is the ideal temperature to active yeast in.
  • You’ll know your yeast is activated if the the top gets foamy and your get that yeast-y smell.
  • Store your yeast in an air-tight container. Keep refreshing your stock every six months.

If you would like to check out more tea-time treats, try these amazing savoury cumin biscuits with a steaming cup of tea!

Leave a Reply

