Jeera biscuits (Cumin biscuits)

Insomnia led to these amazing cookies. No kidding.

It was raining one night and sleep was far away. Rains cannot be enjoyed with hot tea and that’s exactly what I did. Except, I wasn’t in the mood for oily goodies, but savoury biscuits instead. These cookies are buttery, salty and melt in your mouth! I love cumin. I always add extra cumin to my vegetables, my meat and you name it.

These cookies can be adapted into different flavours. You can use fennel seeds or caraway seeds instead of cumin in this recipe and these guys will still taste amazing. Don’t believe me? Go try it please. Let’s get straight to the recipe!

Ingredients

2 teaspoons cumin seeds, dry roasted

1-1/2 cups plain flour

100 grams butter, softened at room temperature

2 tablespoons sugar

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

2 tablespoons of milk

A hot cup of tea! (not optional)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Method

  1. In a large clean bowl, cream butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy. I use a wooden spoon or a whisk for this. Let me share a tip here. Cream your butter and sugar not just until pale and fluffy, but let it also increase in volume. Your biscuits will come out light and will melt in your mouth!
  2. In to the creamed butter, sugar mix, sift in flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add in the cumin saving some to garnish. Form a dough with the mix adding one tablespoon of milk at a time until you get a smooth ball of dough.
  3. Let the dough rest for at least 10 minutes. You don’t have to refrigerate them. It’ll be easier to roll them out if they’re at room temperature.
  4. Once rested, roll the dough out into a 1/2 inch think sheet and then using a cookie cutter or a sharp bowl (or the cover of a Pringles bottle like me!) cut out cookies in your favourite shape. You can roll out the remaining dough and make more cookies.
  5. Line a baking tray and set your cookies at least 1/2 an inch apart from each other. These cookies don’t expand too much so it’s fine.
  6. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 150 degree celsius for 10 minutes. I use a tiny OTG so my cooking time varies. Depending on your oven you might need 15 minutes. You’ll know when the cookies go slightly brown on the edges. If you’re using an OTG like me, I advise that you put the cookies in the topmost rack so the bottoms don’t burn.
  7. Cool and serve with a hot cup of tea!

I made my cookies in two shapes just for fun, but they both look so beautiful!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

