Eggless Lemon drizzle cake

I have been obsessing over my new loaf tin and now I can’t stop baking in it. Also, small quantities mean cake is over fast and I get to bake a new flavour soon. Ha! I seriously can’t get enough. Plus, these loaves go so well with tea or even as dessert after a meal, I love it!

I had a bunch of lemons lying in my fridge and I forgot about them and order another bunch. I can’t stress this enough, you can never have too much of lemon or garlic. There is no such thing! Anyway, I dressed the lemons up with some flour and sugar and boom! This cake is gorgeous and light and tart. My mouth is watering just writing this post. Let’s get straight to the recipe!

img_20170131_132412967

Ingredients

For the sponge

3 lemons – zested and juiced

1 cup flour

120 ml buttermilk

1/2 cup sugar

3 tablespoons oil

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

50 ml milk

For the glaze

2 tablespoons lemon zest

2 tablespoons lemon juice

4 tablespoons icing sugar

img_20170131_132441087

Method

  1. Juice half a lemon into 120 ml milk and set aside. This will form a buttermilk that will make your cake very moist.
  2. Sift in all the dry ingredients in a bowl except the baking soda. Set aside.
  3. To your buttermilk, add in the oil, rest of the lemon juice and zest and mix well.
  4. Add wet mixture to the dry. If the mixture is too dry and not smooth, add in the extra 50 ml milk. Do not overmix, we do not want to knock out any air from the mixture.
  5. Once mixed, add in the baking soda and fold in. The mixture will start to foam which means you will have a beautiful light sponge.
  6. Pour the batter into your lined baking tin. Bake at 150 degree celsius for 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  7. Once slightly cooled, drizzle with glaze, slice and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

